Hi, Mom!

Naturally my idea for writing today happened to coincide with DailyPost’s prompt for the day- writing a letter to your mother.

So here goes.

Dear Mom,

Hey there, it’s Michael, writing an internet letter to you. The thought of doing this is kind of silly; I mean I still live in the same house as you. As I’m typing this post, you’re downstairs watching TV. You probably won’t see this, but I know you’ll appreciate if you somehow get the chance.

Mom, without you I wouldn’t exist. Of course there’s the obvious fact that you brought me into this world, but I also mean that I would not be the person I am today if it weren’t for you. To say that you’ve influenced me would be a bit of an understatement. When I stop to think about, I realize how much I’m like you.

Despite what you may think about your own parenting skills, you’ve raised me and Patrick well. It says a lot that both Patrick and I have such a strong moral compass that we wouldn’t be able to tell a lie due to a massive feeling of guilt. Your former moratorium on swear words made us not be typical filthy-mouthed teenagers, and even though we do occasionally swear now, I know people who do so much more frequently.

You’ve gone above and beyond the call of duty as a parent on so many occasions. Once I even confided in you about my girl problems, and you accepted my melodramatic bullshit and talked me through my rough patch. You know me so well that you can predict how I’m feeling just by the look on my face or the tone in my voice, to the point where I sometimes fib a bit to make it seem like you’re not totally psychic. I like to think that no one totally knows me, but you probably do.

You’re also really cool, and I’ve mentioned that before, haven’t I? It’s funny, lots of my friends, as well as musicians I’ve interviewed, have talked about their musical tastes being influenced by their parents. In our case, the music that I’ve been listening to has had a huge influence on you. You love Hollerado and The Mountains & The Trees and that’s something I never thought I’d be saying several years ago.

Music aside, though, you always ask me occasional questions about the TV shows I watch and the video games that I play. When I was playing Guacamelee! you asked me about what I was trying to accomplish in a particular section of the game and I didn’t even hesitate before explaining. Even though you don’t watch Mad Men, I still tell you about what happens every single week and you listen.

Even though it seems impossible that you’ll ever be able to fall asleep for a whole night, I know that if Patrick and I became violently ill during the night you would be up in a heartbeat to help us out.

So really, Mom, there’s no one more special to me than you. But that goes without saying, doesn’t it?

6 thoughts on “Hi, Mom!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Day! | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  3. Pingback: My Mom Is 99; Top That! | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Dear Mom, | mycookinglifebypatty

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | writinglikeastoner

  6. Pingback: My Mum | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

