Moving on, up and out

Thanks to a text I got from a friend today I realized that yesterday my final marks went up for my final year of my journalism program. I find that generally, when I look up my marks, it’s not much of a moment that sets my heart racing. If anything, every time I look up my grades they’re either exactly what I expected or higher than I expected. I don’t mean to boast or anything like that, but I do generally put effort into my work no matter how big or small the assignment is.

So as of this morning, when I did check my marks, I can officially say that I’ve completed my program and am now about a month away from my graduation ceremony, where I’ll finally walk away with my hard-earned BJ (bachelor of journalism).

What this also officially means, no matter how many times I’ve said this before, is that I need to figure out the rest of my life. There are several things I want to do, and they’re reflected in the title. I want to move up, move out move on.

In talking about “moving on” I’m going to have to be vague and cryptic, unfortunately, but in this case “moving on” refers to getting over somebody. I think that’s all I’ll say and assume that speaks for itself.

“Moving up” means finding a job in the field that I actually want to work in. I’ve fallen more deeply in love with journalism the more time I’ve spent in the program, and finally being able to do something I love while getting paid for it should make for a happier me. The part-time job I have now is alright, I suppose, but I do not want to spend a life in retail.

And finally, “moving out” should probably be fairly self-explanatory. For a long time I’ve wanted to simply move out of my house, and out of my hometown. I’ve unfortunately been living in Mississauga all my life, and I’m pretty sure in a previous post I’ve expressed my disdain for this place. Toronto, on the other hand, is a city that I try to spend as much time as possible in, and it only seems natural to move there. Of course, this is under the assumption that I will have some steady work, because living in Toronto is not cheap.

So there we have it. On, up and out. Not a completely impossible dream, not at all. And I think I can do it.

Wish me luck.

One thought on “Moving on, up and out

  1. M. Brizuela

    hi Michael,

    Just read your latest blog posting. Congratulations on finalizing your degree — was there ever really any doubt? 🙂

    I’d still like to read your feature article. Let me know if there’s an online copy of it somewhere.

    Also, keep me posted re: your moving out plans. I’m starting to look around for an apartment on my own.. which means the room (actually my bedroom and solarium) in the house I live in will become available. I pay $630/inclusive of heat, hydro and laundry. The only catch is that I live with three roommates with varying degrees of cleanliness in the common spaces. If the timing works out, I’d be happy to recommend you to my landlord.

    As you know, I live at 282 Ossington Ave (just across the street from the Dakota) so it would be a sweet location for your jaunts to The Garrison.

    See you soon, Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

