Stadium loathe

First off, it may appear as though I didn’t post anything on Thursday, and for that I apologize. For some reason when I hit publish I was actually just saving a draft. Here’s a link to the post I wrote, now in its proper place.

And now for today.

If you are a fan of the Toronto Blue Jays, I present to you a test. Read the following lyrics and try not to rage:

Wanna make a bet/Odds are neck and neck/Taking off the gloves/Spider vs. bat/Tiger vs rat/Rabbit vs. dove.

Yes, what you just read were some of the lyrics of Metric’s tune “Stadium Love.” You know the song, and that’s because they play it after almost every fucking half-inning of baseball.

Now, to be fair for a moment, I’m glad that this song turned out to be the official Blue Jays anthem of 2013, because it could have been Lenny Kravitz’s “Are You Gonna Go My Way” or BTO’s “Takin’ Care of Business.”

But here’s the thing, Rogers, owners of the Blue Jays. We get it. The Jays need an anthem, a song that will get people pumped up. And this song by Metric can do that. But for god’s sake, tone it down a little! I cannot believe how quickly I began to hate “Stadium Love.” It took less than a week.

Remember during the 2010 Vancouver Olympics? At every commercial break Canadians were subjected to Nikki Yanofsky’s “I Believe.” Thankfully the Olympics were only for a few weeks. Baseball fans could potentially be listening to “Stadium Love” for six months, even longer if the Jays by some miracle make the post-season.

Now, this isn’t Metric’s fault (at least I hope it isn’t; if Emily Haines or Jimmy Shaw specifically asked to have the music played as often as it was I will shoot myself in the face). But this is torture, Rogers.

Worse, this is probably the reason that my opinion of Metric has gone even further down than it was when I heard Synthetica for the first time (I didn’t like that album).

Well hey. At least the Blue Jays anthem for 2013 isn’t “Toast This Life.”

Leave a Reply

