CMW pre-ramble

No typos in that title. This is going to be half storytelling and half warning to any people who might actually be reading this on a daily or almost-daily basis.

First the warning. Starting tomorrow, March 19, until Sunday, March 24, I am going to be covering in full Canadian Music Week. More accurately, I’ll be covering Canadian Music Fest, the music portion of the week-long festival. Some of my days are going to be packed to the brim with a combination of shows, interviews and work (namely Saturday, which I’ll get to) and so the quality of these posts is most likely going to decline this week. I’ll do my best to try and find some time here and there, but don’t get your hopes up for anything spectacular.

And now the storytelling, which won’t really be much. Canadian Music Week has for the past few years been the festival that I haven’t paid as much attention to. It’s not because there’s a severe lack of good music, it’s just that it always falls towards the end of March, which is usually when school goes into overdrive. I’m in my final semester of school, which sounds like it would be intense, but it’s really not that much. I’ve got two “major” projects due by the end of the term but I firmly believe I can get them both done and over with in about two weeks.

Anyway, I’ve “done” CMW to varying degrees over the past few years. To give you an idea of how little I’ve done with the festival before this year: I’ve just put together my schedule for this week, and it will have me seeing, most likely, at least 30 bands over six days and I will have interviewed at least four bands as well. Last year, I interviewed three bands in one day (which was a bit of a record for me), saw an afternoon in-store, and went to a CMW show one night.

And last year was previously the most coverage my blog ever did. The year before that, I interviewed but one artist, an interesting guy named Chris Velan. The year before that I don’t even remember, but I think I interviewed a couple of bands.

The weather for CMW has always been variable. Two of the four years I’ve been paying attention it’s been fairly warm. This year looks to not follow that trend, with daytime highs around 2 degrees celsius. That’s awful to reflect on,  and I will likely be freezing, but hey.

As for my schedule, some days are more packed than others. Saturday looks to be the craziest day, even though there are no interviews. I will first of all be working from 9:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. This will be followed by the aforementioned “rock and roll spin class” I talked about a few days ago. And then I will be doing so much venue hopping I won’t know what to do with myself. Assuming all goes well, I’ll be hopping from the Cameron House to the Free Times Cafe to the Dakota Tavern to the Garrison to Rancho Relaxo. It means a very hand-picked night of bands, and fewer surprises, I suppose, but if it all works out I’ll finally know the joy of cherry-picking an optimum schedule.

This has been my CMW pre-ramble. Please wish me luck in staying alive until next week.

Leave a Reply

