Here’s where my life is at right now

First of all, I hope you all enjoyed my four-part short story that revolved around dreaming. The title was inspired by a song from a tremendous new album by a Toronto band called Wildlife. The album is called …On the Heart and the song I quoted from is called “Bad Dream.”

The story takes my, I hope, fairly obvious love for initial ambiguity. I also tried to mash up genres of story. I started with a good-old-fashioned real-life story before taking the setting to somewhere a little more exotic, then to a complete realm of fantasy.

This has been a fairly rough week for me. On Tuesday I found out that my grandmother had a stroke. It’s the first time it’s happened to her, and she’s now slowly recovering. At first she couldn’t speak, though she’s getting better day by day and can say some words now. My mom and younger brother have gone up to where she lives (near Lake Huron) to stay with her and my grandfather.

In less dire news, I’ve been now wrapped in this sickness for about two weeks. This cold I have is unbelievably stubborn. It seems to fluctuate in how much it wants to make my nose run. Yesterday I barely had to blow my nose at all, and today for some reason it seems to have gotten slightly worse again. I just want to be better in time for CMW, is that too much to ask? I hope not.

I’ve also gotten into an anime, something I haven’t experienced in some time. Years ago, when YTV used to show anime on Friday nights, I intently watched Fullmetal Alchemist. I watched it right from beginning to end, and even watched the movie afterwards. In 2010, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood premiered, but I didn’t watch it for some time. Now I’ve started watching it and am a little over one-third of the way through the series’ 64 episodes. It’s been very compelling watching, despite the anime trope of characters loudly yelling their feelings a lot.

Yesterday I was at a meeting to discuss ideas for my blog’s next show, which went well, and then I went to a show immediately afterward featuring some acts that were all great; Revelstoke, Delta Will and The Benefit of the Free Man.

That’s about all I have to say for today. I hope I’ll have a theme to riff on a little bit more tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

