That time of the year

What time, some of you may ask? But likely a lot of you won’t, because you’ll be experiencing the crushing pressure that is midterms.

But before I get to that: I want to thank all of the people who have been commenting on recent posts and following the blog. It’s nice to know that there’s at least a few people who are somewhat enjoying my scattered ramblings about all kinds of things. I really appreciate everyone who takes the time to put in a few words on what they thought.

So anyways, yes, back to midterms. It’s the time of the year where I reflect on how insanely lucky I am to be in the program that I’m in. For the most part, journalism courses have neither midterms nor exams, and so any midterms I have are for my electives.

This semester I’m taking one elective and have a midterm coming up on Wednesday, but that’s it. Most of my friends in other programs are dealing with four or five midterms this week or have already dealt with some, and while I can’t understand exactly what dealing with that much work feels like, I do sympathize and know that it must be one of the few things that are thought about right now.

And so I offer some words to all those suffering with studying and writing this week.

Make sure to take a few breaks in between studying. Try not to pull all-nighters if you can help it; sleep will feel infinitely rewarding. Remember that once you get through this at the end of the week, the reward will be huge. Free time!

My thoughts are with you, midterm writers.

I hope this doesn’t come off as condescending, because on the internet it’s a lot harder to detect irony or sarcasm. I am genuinely hoping that all goes well for everybody.

Sorry this post has been so short today. I am again really stuck for things to write. Here’s hoping for more inspiration tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

