PS4 and here comes next-gen

What a very scattered week of blog posts this has been, and it really reflects how scattered my week in general has been. I began on Sunday talking about mentors I’ve had in the past. On Monday I wrote about my experience at a Hare Krishna temple, and for some reason my post was picked up by a Hare Krishna website, so I’ve been getting a few more hits than normal on that post. Tuesday I wrote primarily about a film I saw, Stories We Tell, and on Wednesday I rambled on about how awesome Wavelength was.

Today, after talking about religion, music, and film I’m now talking about video games.

If you are a gamer and you aren’t living under a rock, you probably heard yesterday about Sony’s unveiling of their next-gen gaming system, rather obviously titled the PS4. To be honest, after reading all the technical specs all I can really understand is that it will feature improved graphics and can apparently interact with the PS Vita and/or smartphones or tablets. I don’t know to what extent or anything like that.

There are a few drawbacks to this new system though. There’s rumours (or maybe it’s true, I don’t know) that Sony will include a code with each game, which essentially means that the game can only be played on one console. This could have a future effect of killing the used-game market that stores like EB Games/Gamestop revel in. It’s also not going to be backwards compatible with PlayStation 3 games, meaning my small collection of games will have to be played on the good-old PS3, assuming I decide to move over to the next generation of consoles.

There’s a good number of launch titles, the one I’m most excited about being inFAMOUS: Second Son and also others like Killzone and The Witcher 3.

The new console looks cool, and I imagine Microsoft is pretty close to unveiling their new XBOX. But I’m never one to jump on a bandwagon too quickly. I have had my PS3 for perhaps two or three years, so I got it probably over halfway through its life cycle. I’m not a hardcore gamer by any means, but there are certain titles I get excited about like Assassin’s Creed and inFAMOUS (as I’ve already mentioned).

The consequence of me being not-quite-an-early-adopter means that I miss out on a lot of hype as games come out, which I’m okay with. I’ve always considered myself a person of many varied interests, particularly books, music and good TV, so I’m okay with being somewhat of a novice in the world of video games.

Video game fandoms can be kind of scary, too. I don’t know if this is uniformly the case, but it seems like video games fans of way higher expectations for releases than film, TV and music fans. They also seem to feel more like their opinion should be valued more than other mediums.

This concludes my very scattered and random musings on video games. I have no doubt that tomorrow’s post will be equally as scattered.

Leave a Reply

