The TV I love

The idea for this post came from an assignment I’m working on. For my class called Journalism and the Arts, I’m supposed to write a review of a Canadian-made TV show. My choices were Flashpoint, Murdoch Mysteries and Bomb Girls. I chose the latter, more out of curiosity than anything.

A capsule review of Bomb Girls: it has its melodramatic moments, which prevent it from being as fine of a period drama as Mad Men, but it’s good at educating audiences about little-known World War II facts and has some fairly complex storylines that aren’t resolved easily (which is a good thing).

Anyways, here I will briefly talk about the TV shows that I’m currently watching, what I’m looking forward to when it returns, and finally, a few shows I gave up on along the way.

What I’m watching on TV right now:

  • Adventure Time: It’s a cartoon, yes, I know, but its humour is so wacky that, while it’s intended for a preteen/teen audience, it’s got lots of humour that adults will find just as funny. It follows Finn, a human, and Jake, a magical dog, though a land called Ooo. Lots of silliness, lots of fantastic verbal and visual gags. And how can you dislike a show that once referred to sweatpants as “give up on life pants”?
  • Regular Show: Second cartoon entry here. Also intended for a younger audience, though i don’t quite understand why because it’s got way more adult humour. Follows Mordecai and Rigby, a blue jay and raccoon, respectively, as they go through hilarious adventures surrounding their work at a park. Each episode usually starts off normally but gets super weird by the end.
  • New Girl: I’ll admit it, I started watching it because Zooey Deschanel is my biggest celebrity crush, but I stuck around because, after the show realized that it couldn’t just be about “adorkable Jess,” it made something of itself and turned the chemistry of Jess, Nick, Schmidt and Winston into something hilarious.
  • Family Guy: Yes, I know it’s not nearly as good as it once was, and its episodes have gotten very hit-and-miss. That being said, it occasionally has some great moments, most recently in an episode centering around a play Brian wrote that sees some success.
  • Once Upon a Time: The show has had its ups and downs, but the ever-expanding mythos of fairy-tale characters interacting in the real world is pretty interesting. Mainly I find it interesting how the series could potentially end, since there’s so much going on and so many variables.

What I can’t wait to watch soon:

  • Community: I don’t know if I could ever call myself a member of a fandom, with all its implications, but I am unabashed about my deep love for this show. When season two ended, I could feel a hole in my heart even though I knew the show was coming back. Now it’s hard its fair share of turbulence, and this could very well be its final season, but I’m happy to have it back (even if, unfortunately, I’ll be missing the season premiere since I’ll be at a show).
  • Mad Men: I spent the summer and fall of 2012 catching up on this superbly acted and unpredictable show. Don Draper is a man to love and loathe at the same time, but my particular favourite on the show has to be Ken Cosgrove. It’s apparently returning in April, I believe, but I can wait. I’m looking forward to watching the episodes as they premiere this time around.

What I gave up on:

  • Last Resort. The pilot had so much going for it. It could have been one of the fall TV season’s best new shows. Except its audience bled, and ABC cancelled it. Even though the show’s final episodes were still aired, I couldn’t bring myself to finish it. There was way too much navy jargon and not enough to keep my full attention.
  • 666 Park Avenue: Also cancelled, also had some promise. It could have been scary, but the plot just got more poorly and poorly executed. I gave up after watching an episode that guest-starred Whoopi Goldberg. She played a woman who couldn’t leave the building and when she finally did at the end, she turned into a flock of doves. How stupid.
  • Glee: I somehow suffered through three season of that show, even though season one was the only season that could actually be called decent. Melodrama, really shitty covers of shitty songs and very mixed messages make for a really terrible show. Even if I wanted to start watching it again, I couldn’t after the way the show dealt with Jonathon Coulton.

And there you have it, my TV viewing habits in a neat bundle. There are lots of shows I’d love to start digesting, namely Parks and Recreation, season 2 of Game of Thrones, Girls, and maybe a few others, but I am in school right now and thus do not have the time. Should anyone care to suggest any other TV shows I should watch, current or not, let me know with a comment.

2 thoughts on “The TV I love

Leave a Reply

