Jack of all trades, master of one

I’m cooking dinner for my family tonight, something I don’t do as often as I’d like to. It reminded me about an aspect of myself, in that I am curious to know how to do as many things as I possibly can. I certainly am not amazingly talented at anything, nor do I know how to do a lot of things. But over the years, I’ve adopted the goal of becoming “jack of all trades, master of one.” So I want to learn how to do everything, but be a master at one thing. What that one thing is I don’t know yet.

Some of these things are minor. Like in grade 11, I learned how to play the cat’s cradle string game. Or in grade twelve, I finally learned how to tie a tie. I became obsessed with learning after playing characters in plays I acted in and having to get someone else to do it for me. One friend tied ties for me a lot, and I felt so fantastic when, at grade twelve prom, I arrived with a tie I had tied and proudly showed her that I had tied it myself.

I’ve become decent at other minor things like crossword puzzles and Sudoku, and I think I have a fairly decent grasp of cooking now. Last summer I learned how to put up a tent. There’s still lots of other little skills I want to learn. Like swimming- that would be a big one. My joke to people is that I am amazing at sinking. Or learn another language. I don’t really care which; in fact I’d like to learn a language like Farsi or something just because.

I also want to get more into coding. A while back I spent some time learning web coding, such as HTML and CSS, and I even learned a little Javascript. Codecademy is a pretty amazing place, if you have the time you should definitely look into it.

I also also want to master (or at least come close to mastering) an instrument. I’ve always wanted to make my own music but I don’t quite have the technical knowledge just yet.

That’s all I have to say for today, I think. Tomorrow, time permitting, I may just start on a short story broken up into parts. I’ve got an idea kicking around but it needs a little more fleshing out before I commit to anything.

Leave a Reply

